Deactivating a User
Deactivating a user revokes that user's permissions to the registry, akin to "deleting" the user, while leaving the user's published crate versions and other data intact.
To deactivate a user, click the "edit" icon on the Users page to navigate to the Edit User page, toggle the "Active" field to "off", and save changes:
When a user is deactivated:
- All active sessions are immediately logged out
- All auth tokens are immediately revoked
- The user is no longer able to log in to Shipyard.rs
However, any crate versions published by the user, as well as other kinds of records, will remain in place.
A deactivated user will remain listed as an owner of any crates they previously had ownership over.
Currently, a deactivated user's SSH public keys are not automatically disabled. This allows ongoing SSH-based access to the crate index metadata using keys that were adding to the users' Gitea account while they were active. Until a deactivated user's SSH keys are automatically disabled upon deactivation, please contact support if you need assistance manually disabling a user's SSH keys.
Reactivating a User
A deactivated user may also be reactivated via the Edit User page, by toggling the "Active" field to "on."
If reactivated, a deactivated user's previous auth tokens will begin working again.